What VWO actually costs

Checked 6 September 2026. Every figure below carries its source and the date we retrieved it.

VWO does not publish a price. We fetched its pricing page and found a "Schedule a Demo" button where the number should be, on all three plans. Here is what VWO does tell you, what independent buyers report paying, and the two billing rules that catch people out after they sign.

The short version. VWO is quote only, like Optimizely and AB Tasty. The single independent dataset we could find puts the median VWO contract at about $16,330 a year, which is well below what the same source reports for Optimizely. Before you sign, get two things in writing: how VWO counts a tracked user across its products, and what happens when you run out of them. Neither works the way most buyers assume, and both change what you actually pay.

What VWO publishes, and what it does not

We retrieved vwo.com/pricing on 6 September 2026. It lists three plans for the Testing product: Growth, Pro and Enterprise. None shows a price. Each shows a "Schedule a Demo" button instead, and there is no currency figure anywhere in the page. Capterra lists all three as "Custom Quote" and the free version as "Not available".

VWO has a reputation for being the transparent one in this category. That reputation is out of date. If you have seen a specific VWO price quoted online, check who is quoting it. Vendr's buyer guide describes a VWO "Starter" tier at roughly $314 a month for up to 10,000 tracked users, but no Starter plan appears on VWO's pricing page. That number is Vendr's inference, not VWO's published price, and we would not build a budget on it.

The three plans, and what separates them

VWO does publish what each tier includes, which is more useful than it sounds. The gates tell you where the money is.

Two of those gates are worth flagging. API access sits on Enterprise, so programmatic control over your experiments is a top tier purchase. So are mutually exclusive groups, the feature you need when two tests could collide on the same page. Teams often discover both requirements a year into a programme, at renewal.

VWO also sells Personalization, Feature Management, Insights, Pulse, Commerce, Engage and its Wandz AI layer as separate products, most with their own quota. VWO says it discounts "combo deals and longer contracts", so the term and the bundle are both negotiable. It also offers non profits preferential pricing on all plans without detailing it further.

How VWO counts a tracked user

This is the rule that surprises people, and VWO states it plainly in its own pricing FAQ. Quotas are per product, not per account.

VWO's wording: "Visitors are counted towards MTU on a per-product basis. In the same billing month, if a visitor becomes a part of multiple campaigns of the same product, VWO will count them as a single MTU for that product. If a visitor becomes a part of campaign(s) of different VWO products, VWO will count them as a separate MTU for each product."

So one person who enters a VWO test and also sees a VWO personalization campaign consumes two tracked users. Buy three VWO products and a single engaged visitor can bill three times. You can purchase a common quota across most products, but VWO notes visitors are still counted per product even then. Our unit is different again, so do the arithmetic on your own traffic before comparing any two quotes.

What happens when the quota runs out

VWO stops. From the same FAQ: "all your running tests and data capture will stop upon exhaustion of quota. Automatic extension of quota does not happen." To get more, you contact VWO.

This is genuinely defensible. Nobody enjoys an unexpected overage invoice, and a hard ceiling is honest about what you bought. But it has a cost: a traffic spike can end a running test partway through, and data capture stops with it, so you lose the record of your busiest period. If your traffic is seasonal, ask how quota top ups work before you need one.

We stop too, at a different point. Visitors already in a test keep their variant and finish it, new enrolment pauses, and you get an email at 80% and again at 100%. Both platforms have a ceiling. The difference is what happens to the people who were mid experiment when you hit it.

What independent buyers report paying

Only one publisher we could find reports actual VWO contract values in dollars.

Reported medianRangeBasis
VWO$16,330 a year$7,820 to $35,790Vendr, 102 purchases, updated February 2026
AB Tasty$66,500 a year$37,191 to $70,785Vendr, purchase count not stated, February 2026
Optimizely$81,447 a year$26,460 to $261,075Vendr, 126 purchases, updated February 2026
Staircase chart of ABTestly's published monthly price against tracked users, rising through the Starter, Pro and Business tiers, with Enterprise on custom terms.
ABTestly's published monthly rates, and the tracked-user ceiling at which each one changes. Enterprise is not drawn, because it is priced on custom terms.

All three rows come from the same publisher, so they are internally comparable but not independently corroborated. Vendr's two VWO pages disagree with each other on the underlying deal count, one saying 66 and the other 102. We could not find a second independent source publishing VWO contract values in dollars, which is a real gap in this page.

The useful signal here is not the median but the spread. VWO's reported range runs roughly four and a half times from bottom to top, which tells you the quote depends heavily on what you buy and how hard you negotiate.

Where VWO is worth the money

We are not neutral here, so treat this as our honest read rather than a recommendation. There are real reasons to buy VWO.

VWO and AB Tasty are now the same company

If your shortlist has both, it is one vendor. The combination was announced on 20 January 2026 and has since completed. Everstone Capital, which took a controlling stake in Wingify for $200 million in January 2025, holds majority control of the combined group. The published figures: more than $100 million in annual revenue, more than 4,000 customers, close to 800 employees across 11 offices. The deal value was not disclosed.

The merge is done rather than pending. On 13 June 2026 at 11:00 PM PDT both platforms came together under a single brand, Wingify. app.vwo.com now redirects to app.wingify.com, and help.vwo.com and developers.vwo.com redirect to help.wingify.com and developers.wingify.com. vwo.com continues to operate.

Nothing in that cutover changed what a customer pays or how their site works, and we are not going to imply otherwise. The vendor's own post lists what stayed put, and for a buyer reading a pricing page the contract line is the one that matters: terms, pricing and billing are unchanged by the rebrand.

What the Wingify cutover on 13 June 2026 changed and did not change
After the 13 June 2026 cutoverStatus
BrandVWO and AB Tasty come together under one brand, Wingify
App domainapp.vwo.com redirects to app.wingify.com
vwo.comContinues to operate
SmartCode on your siteDoes not need replacing
Running campaigns and feature flagsKeep running
Historical data and reportsPreserved
LoginsUnchanged
Contracts, pricing and billing termsUnchanged
REST API endpointsUnchanged
Content Security Policy directivesUnaffected

Source: vwo.com, aligning our domain, checked 6 September 2026.

For a buyer the open question is roadmap, not price. Two products with heavily overlapping feature sets now sit under one brand, so ask your rep which one your use case gets steered onto in two years, and what happens to the other. We would ask that in writing.

VWO and ABTestly on cost

VWOABTestly
Published priceNone. "Schedule a Demo" on every planPublished in full on the pricing page
Entry priceNot published$99 / mo Starter, or $79 / mo billed annually
Mid tierNot published$249 / mo Pro, or $199 / mo billed annually, for 100,000 tracked users
How a visitor is countedPer product. One visitor across two VWO products is two tracked usersOnce per calendar month, if bucketed into at least one experiment
At the limitRunning tests and data capture stop. No automatic extensionIn flight visitors finish their variant, new enrolment pauses, email at 80% and 100%
Automatic overage chargesNone. It stops insteadNone. Never billed automatically
Trial30 days, no feature restrictions14 day free trial on monthly plans. Card required, first charge on day 15
API accessEnterprise plan onlyOn every plan
To get a numberBook a demoRead the pricing page

ABTestly figures from abtestly.com/pricing, checked 6 September 2026. VWO rows from vwo.com/pricing, retrieved 6 September 2026. Monthly plans start with a 14 day free trial. A card is required at signup and the first charge lands on day 15. Annual billing and Enterprise are not eligible for the trial.

Which platform fits which buyer

Quick answers

How much does VWO cost?

VWO does not publish list prices. Checked on 6 September 2026, every plan on vwo.com/pricing shows a Schedule a Demo button in place of a price. The one independent dataset we found, from Vendr in February 2026, reports a median VWO contract of 16,330 US dollars a year, with low and high markers at 7,820 and 35,790 dollars that Vendr does not attach a percentile to. Read the sample size sceptically as well: the same page says 102 purchases in its body and 66 deals in its header widget, and labels that one median both a median and an average contract value. That is a single publisher disagreeing with itself, so treat it as one data point rather than a market rate. Only a current VWO quote is authoritative.

How does VWO count monthly tracked users?

Per product, not per account. VWO's own pricing FAQ says each product maintains a separate quota, and that a visitor who enters campaigns in different VWO products is counted as a separate tracked user for each one. A visitor who sees both a VWO test and a VWO personalization campaign therefore consumes two tracked users, not one.

What happens if you exceed your VWO quota?

VWO stops. Its pricing FAQ states that all running tests and data capture will stop upon exhaustion of quota, and that automatic extension of quota does not happen. You have to contact VWO to add more. This means you are never surprised by an overage invoice, but a traffic spike can end a running test and halt data capture until someone notices.

Are VWO and AB Tasty the same company?

Yes. The combination was announced on 20 January 2026, backed by Everstone Capital, which holds majority control, and it has since completed. On 13 June 2026 at 11:00 PM PDT both platforms came together under a single brand, Wingify: app.vwo.com now redirects to app.wingify.com, the help and developer sites redirect to their wingify.com equivalents, and vwo.com continues to operate. The combined group reports more than 100 million US dollars in annual revenue and more than 4,000 customers. If both products are on your shortlist, you are evaluating one vendor. Checked on vwo.com on 6 September 2026.

Does VWO offer a free trial?

Yes. VWO advertises a 30 day free trial with no feature restrictions, full support and unlimited team members, and its trial page says you can start without entering payment details. VWO does not offer a perpetual free plan. Capterra lists its free version as not available.

Sources checked

Checked on 6 September 2026. Prices and product behaviour change, so verify before you rely on a number. Where we could not verify something, we have said so on the page rather than estimated it.

VWO is a trademark of Wingify Software Pvt Ltd. AB Tasty is a trademark of its respective owner. ABTestly is not affiliated with or endorsed by VWO, Wingify or AB Tasty. The third party cost benchmarks on this page come from publicly available aggregator data, not from VWO. Pricing information checked 6 September 2026. Request a current quote for authoritative numbers.

The ABTestly team

Priced in the open

Know what you pay
before you book a call.

Our prices are on the pricing page. No demo required to read them.